Remembrance Sunday 2018

A recording was made of the Solemn Mass for Remembrance Sunday, 11 November 2018, commemorating the 100th anniversary of the end of the First World War.

The Mass featured Gabriel Fauré's Requiem (1888 version) in the context of the liturgy:

Director of Music
Dr Geoffrey Cox

James Allen
Andrea Blansjaar
Anna Bornemisza
Ross De Vent
Matt Hadgraft
Rebecca McIntyre
Catherine Penderlich
Campbell Reither
Foon Wong

Matt Hadgraft

Jeremy Fletcher (Organ)
Mary Anderson (Harp)
Tim Veldman (Violin)
Phoebe Smithies (French Horn)
Ella Moulton (French Horn)

Principal Celebrant
The Reverend Stuart Soley, Parish Priest

The Reverend Tom Brown
The Reverend Cecilia Francis
The Reverend John Spring

Fr Stuart Soley

Master of Ceremonies
Rod Conn

Eucharistic Assistants
Andrew Buchanan
Robyn Gunther

Bernie Brown
Andrew Buchanan
Ellen Green
Peter Owens
Leon Warden

Rena Pritchard
Peter Owens

Video Production
Andy Schomberg (Lost In Film)

Audio Production
Thomas Grubb (Mano Musica)

Order of Mass
The order of Solemn Mass derives from “Holy Communion Second Order” including “Additional Prayers”, “Seasonal Variations” and “Prayers of Confession” in A Prayer Book for Australia, copyright © 1995 The Anglican Church of Australia Trust Corporation, published under the imprint of Broughton Books.  The text includes the English translations prepared by the English Language Liturgical Consultation (ELLC), 1988.

Additional texts derive from Common Worship: Times and Seasons, copyright © 2006 The Archbishops’ Council of the Church of England, published by Church House Publishing, London.

Isaiah 25:6-9
Psalm 23
Revelation 21:1-7
John 15:9-17

The texts of the Readings, Responsorial Psalm and Gospel Acclamation are based on the New Revised Standard Version of the Bible, copyright © 1989 Division of Christian Education of the National Council of the Churches of Christ in the United States of America, as provided in the Lectionary: Sunday and Solemnities, copyright © 1992, 2009 Concacan Inc., Ottawa, Canada.

Gabriel Fauré, Requiem (1888 version), derived from the edition of the 1893 version by John Rutter, published by Oxford University Press, 1985.

The musical setting of the congregational parts of the Mass, published originally in Eucharist: Music for the Congregation, ed. Geoffrey Cox and Graeme Skinner (Fine Music, 1984), and adapted to the ELLC translation by Geoffrey Cox, are copyright © 2016, 2018 Saint Mark’s Anglican Church, Fitzroy, Victoria.

Music of the other ministerial chants, based on Sarum chant, arranged  by Geoffrey Cox, is copyright © 2016, 2018 Saint Mark’s Anglican Church, Fitzroy, Victoria.

The setting of the Responsorial Psalm (23) derives from Chants Between the Readings (in preparation) and is copyright © 2018 Geoffrey Cox.  Used with permission.

The words of the hymn “We turn to you, O God of every nation”, by Fred Kaan 1929-2009, are copyright © Stainer & Bell Ltd. Used with permission.

The tune HIGHWOOD is by Richard Runciman Terry 1865-1938.  The instrumental arrangement by Geoffrey Cox is used with permission.